Dangerous Affair by Riley Edwards

POV: Dual 1st Person
3rd Act Break-Up: Yes
Tropes: One Night Stand; Widower; Damaged Hero; Age Gap; Protector Romance; Found Family
Series: Takeback book 7
Type of Series: Series of  Standalones
Rate: 5/5 Stars
Release Date: February 27 2024
PoP: 3%

Wilson McCray is the man in charge of Takeback, and in Dangerous Affair we finally get to the heart of this damaged hero. And we learn just how much he keeps from those around him.

Wilson has been a little bit of an enigma through the series. He is there, but he isn’t. Always willing to give advice, but we don’t really know him. Until Atlee Levine enters his life. And the life that Wilson thought he knew was over. Wilson lives with an insane amount of guilt because of his wife’s death, and as you learn more about him you realize that a lot of that guilt is misplaced anger. Her death while tragic, was not something he had control over.

Dangerous Affair opens with Atlee Levine meeting a man at a bar, and has a moment that she will never forget. No last names, just feeling. Until she gets to her grandmother’s home, and her world changes in ways she never expected. Mrs. Simpson is a delight as always in this book, and the love that she has for her granddaughter is full force and not hidden. Atlee lives in a world in which she feels as though she isn’t enough. Her father is so lost in his personal grief that he forgot about her, but she has her grandmother.

These are two people who are destined to be together. IT is not easy, it is not smooth, it is not pretty. Words are said. Emotions are high. Feelings are hurt. This book far surpassed my expectations for Wilson and I am thrilled by it. There are times when as a reader, the final book in a series or a beloved character is something to look forward to, and it’s a let down. This is not the case.

Dangerous Affair is about Atlee and Wilson at its core, but it’s the relationships in this series that shine as well.

But let me tell you… there is a moment in the epilogue of this book that culminates the series. I am NOT okay. Riley Edwards takes a meaningful and profound moment and wrecks your heart at the same time. Yet in the best way possible. While I am sad to see this cast of characters and their stories be over, I know that we will continue to see them again and again.

 I told you, Wilson, I will fight you. Perhaps you misunderstood. What I meant was, I will fight you. You can push me away, and I won’t let you. You can try your shock and awe, and it will bounce off me. You can tell me a thousand times you’re going to fail me but I won’t believe you. Me sitting on your lap right this very second is proof you will never let me down. I love you, Wilson, and I’m not letting you go.

Do not miss this series…. it is worth every second.

Check out my review of book one here: Dangerous Love
Listen as we interview author Riley Edwards: Check it out here